INS Releases Notice of Ports of Departure for Nonimmigrants Aliens Subject to Special Registration

In August 2002, the Attorney General revised the special registration requirements for nonimmigrant aliens “subject to special registration”. One of these revisions, as published in the Federal Register, requires that nonimmigrant aliens subject to this close monitorship, when finally departing the US, must report this departure to an inspecting officer of the INS at any port of entry. The only exception to this rule applies to specific ports that nonimmigrant aliens subject to special registration are not allowed to depart from. This requirement became effective October 1, 2002.

Because of critical national security concerns and limited resources, the INS has limited the ports of departure allowed for nonimmigrant aliens subject to special registration. The INS will post updates as the list expands on its website,

Currently, the following ports of entry are specially designated for final registration and departure by nonimmigrant aliens subject to special registration. No other port of entry may be used for departure by these nonimmigrant aliens:

Amistad Dam POE, Texas;
Anchorage International Airport, Alaska;
Atlanta Hartsfield International Airport, Georgia;
Bell Harbor Pier 66 Cruise Ship Terminal, Washington;
Bridge of the Americas POE, Texas;
Brownsville/Matamoras POE, Texas;
Buffalo Peace Bridge POE, New York;
Cape Vincent POE, New York;
Calexico POE, California;
Chicago O’Hare International Airport, Illinois;
Champlain POE, New York;
Chateaugay POE, New York;
Columbus POE, New Mexico;
Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, Texas;
Del Rio International Bridge POE, Texas;
Denver International Airport, Colorado;
Detroit Canada Tunnel, Michigan;
Detroit Metro Airport, Michigan;
Douglas POE, Arizona;
Dulles International Airport, Virginia;
Eagle Pass POE, Texas;
Fort Covington POE, New York;
Galveston POE, Texas;
Guam International Airport;
Heart Island POE, New York; H
idalgo POE, Texas;
Highgate Springs POE, Vermont;
Honolulu International Airport, Hawaii;
Honolulu Seaport, Hawaii;
Houston George Bush Intercontinental Airport, Texas;
Houston Seaport, Texas;
International Falls POE, Minnesota;
John F. Kennedy International Airport, New York;

Gateway to the Americas Bridge POE, Laredo, Texas;
Lewiston Bridge POE, New York;
Logan International Airport, Massachusetts;
Long Beach Seaport, California;
Los Angeles International Airport, California;
Miami International Airport, Florida;
Miami Marine Unit, Florida;
Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, Minnesota;
Mooers POE, New York;
Niagara Falls, Rainbow Bridge, New York;
Newark International Airport, New Jersey;
Nogales POE, Arizona;
Ogdensburg POE, New York;
Orlando, Florida;
Oroville POE, Washington;
Otay Mesa POE, California;
Pacific Highway POE, Washington;
Pembina POE, North Dakota;
Piegan POE, Montana;
Portal POE, North Dakota;
Port Arthur POE, Texas;
Progreso Bridge POE, Texas;
Raymond POE, Montana;
Roosville POE, Montana;
Rouses Point POE, New York;
San Antonio International Airport, Texas;
San Diego Seaport, California;
San Francisco International Airport, California;
Seattle Seaport, Washington;
Seaway International Bridge/Massena POE, New York;
Seattle Tacoma International Airport, Washington;
Sweetgrass POE, Montana;
Thousand Islands POE, New York;
Trout River POE, New York;
and Ysleta POE, Texas.

For more information please contact
Stephen M. Dearborn, Assistant Chief Inspector,
Immigration and Naturalization Service, 425 I Street, NW., Room 4064,
Washington, DC 20536,
202) 305-2970.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s